HOW PROPHET MUHAMMED (P.B.U.H) TREATED HIS WIVES.

PROPHET MUHAMMED (P.B.U.H) TREATED HIS WIVES.

There follow examples of the kind treatment of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) towards his wives for he is the best example.

UNDERSTANIND LOVE & JEALOUSY OF MOTHER OF BELIEVER :-

It was narrated from Umm Salamah that she brought some food in a dish of hers to the Messenger of Allah and his Companions, then ‘Aishah came, wrapped up in a garment, with a stone pestle and broke the dish. The Prophet gathered the broken pieces of the dish and said:”Eat; your mother got jealous,” twice. Then the Messenger of Allah took the dish of ‘Aishah and sent it to Umm Salamah and he gave the dish of Umm Salamah to ‘Aishah.

SUNAN NASEEI (Vol. 4, Book 36, Hadith 3408)

Anas (Allah be pleased with him) reported that Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) had ninewives. So when he divided (his stay) with them, the turn of the first wife did not come but on the ninth (day). They (all the wives) used to gather every night in the house of one where he had to come (and stay that night). It was (the night when he had to stay) in the house of ‘A’isha (Allah be pleased with her), when Zainab came there. He (the Holy Prophet) stretched his hand towards her (Zainab), whereupon she (‘A’isha) said:It is Zainab. Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) withdrew his hand. There was an altercation between the two until their voices became loud (and it was at that time) when Iqama was pronounced for prayer. There happened to come Abu Bakr and he heard their voices and said: Messenger of Allah, (kindly) come for prayer, and throw dust in their moths. So the Prophet (may peace be upon him) went out. ‘A’isha said: When Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) would finish his prayer there would also come Abu Bakr and he would do as he does (on such occasions, i. e. reprimanding). When Allah’s Apostle (may peace be upon him) had finished his prayer, there came to her Abu Bakr. and spoke to her (‘A’isha) in stern words and said: Do you behave like this?

SAHIH MUSLIM (Book 8, Hadith 3450)

IMAM AL NAWAWI SAID :-

The phrase ” Feel like throwing dirt (dust) in their mouths” shows or means that Abu bakr (r.a) wanted to stop their fighting because it was causing annoyance to the prophet (s.a.w).

(SHARH MUSLIM 10/39)

A’isha reported that when Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) set ont on a journey, he used to cast lots amongst his wives. Once this lot came out in my favour and that of Hafsa. They (Hafsi, and ‘A’isha) both went along with him and Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) used to travel (on camel) when it was night along with ‘A’isha and talked with her. Hafsa said to ‘A’isha:Would you like to ride upon my camel tonight and allow me to ride upon your camel and you would see (what you do not generally see) and I would see (what I do not see) generally? She said: Yes. So ‘A’isha rode upon the camel of Hafsa and Hafsa rode upon the camel of ‘A’isha and Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) came near the camel of ‘A’isha. (whereas) Hafsa had been riding over that. He greeted her and then rode with her until they came down. She (‘A’isha) thus missed (the company of the Holy Prophet) and when they sat down, ‘A’isha felt jealous. She put her foot in the grass and said: O Allah, let the scorpion sting me or the serpent bite me. And so far as thy Messenger is concerned, I cannot say anything about him.

SAHIH MUSLIM (Book 31, Hadith 5991)

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

AFFECTION AND COMPASSION :-

It was narrated that ‘Aa’ishah said: The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) came back from al-Baqee’ and I had a headache and was saying, Oh my head. He said, “Rather, I should say, Oh my head, O ‘Aa’ishah.

IBN MAJAH (HADITH 1465)

NOTE :-

Remember that when the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) died, ‘Aa’ishah was eighteen years old, which means that when she complained of this headache she was younger than eighteen, and the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) believed her and treated her with compassion.

SOURCE OF IBN MAJAH :-

http://www.islamweb.net/newlibrary/display_book.php?bk_no=54&ID=438&idfrom=2627&idto=3022&bookid=54&startno=31

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

HELPING THEM IN HOUSEHOLD DUTIES :-

Narrated Al-Aswad bin Yazid:

I asked `Aisha “What did the Prophet use to do at home?” She said, “He used to work for his family, and when he heard the Adhan (call for the prayer), he would go out.”

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 7, Book 64, Hadith 276)

Narrated Al-Aswad:

That he asked `Aisha “What did the Prophet use to do in his house?” She replied, “He used to keep himself busy serving his family and when it was the time for prayer he would go for it.”

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 1, Book 11, Hadith 644)
SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 8, Book 73, Hadith 65)

Hisham ibn ‘Urwa said that his father said, “I asked ‘A’isha, may Allah be pleased with her, ‘What did the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, do in his house?’ She replied, ‘He mended his sandals and worked as any man works in his house.'”

ADAB UL-MUFRAD (Book 1, Hadith 2)
ADAB UL-MUFRAD (Book 1, Hadith 3)

Amra reported that ‘A’isha was asked, “What did the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, do in his house?” She replied, “He was a man like other men. He removed the fleas from his garment and milked his sheep.”

ADAB UL-MUFRAD (Book 1, Hadith 4)

Narrated Aisha

Allah’s Messenger (peace be upon him) used to patch his sandals, sew his garment and conducthimself at home as anyone of you does in his house. He was a human being, searching his garment for lice, milking his sheep, and doing his own chores

SUNAN TIRMIDHI (HADITH 5822)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

DEMONSTRATING HIS LOVE & LOYALTY TO THEM. :-

‘A’isha reported that Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) said to me: I am for you as Abu Zara’ was for Umm Zara’.

SAHIH MUSLIM (Book 31, Hadith 5998)
SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 7, Book 62, Hadith 117)

NOTE :-

This is a long but beautiful hadith. It describes the event that some women were cribbing about their husbands , so on and so forth and then one women praised her husband (who divorced her later) in such an outstanding way that prophet (s.a.w) in a romantic gesture compared his love to his.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

EATING & DRINKING WITH THEM. :-

It was narrated that ‘Aishah said:

“I would drink while I was menstruating, then I would hand it to the Prophet (p.b.u.h), and he would put his mouth where mine had been and drink. And I would nibble at the bone on which some bits of meat were left while I was menstruating, then I would give it to the Prophet (p.b.u.h) and he would put his mouth where my mouth had been.”

SUNAN NASEEI (Vol. 1, Book 1, Hadith 283)
SUNAN NASEEI (Vol. 1, Book 1, Hadith 70)
SUNAN NASEEI (Vol. 1, Book 2, Hadith 342)

It was narrated from Shuraih that he asked ‘Aishah:”Can a woman eat with her husband while she is menstruating? She said: ‘Yes. The Messenger of Allah (p.b.u.h) would call me to eat with him while I was menstruating. He would take a piece of bone on which some bits of meat were left and insist that I take it first, so I would nibble a little from it, then put it down. Then he would take it and nibble from it, and he would put his mouth where mine had been on the bone. Then he would ask for a drink and insist that I take it first before he drank from it. So I would take it and drink from it, then put it down, then he would take it and drink from it, putting his mouth where mine had been on the cup.'”

SUNAN NASEEI (Vol. 1, Book 1, Hadith 280)
SUNAN NASEEI (Vol. 1, Book 3, Hadith 380)

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

NOT COMPLAINING OF THEIR CIRCUMSTANCES. :-

Narrated Zainab bint Abi Salama:

Um-Salama said, “I got my menses while I was lying with the Prophet under a woolen sheet. So I slipped away, took the clothes for menses and put them on. Allah’s Apostle said, ‘Have you got your menses?’ I replied, ‘Yes.’ Then he called me and took me with him under the woolen sheet.” Um Salama further said, “The Prophet used to kiss me while he was fasting. The Prophet and I used to take the bath of Janaba from a single pot.”

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 1, Book 6, Hadith 319)
SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 3, Book 31, Hadith 151)

Narrated `Aisha:

Allah’s Apostle said, ” I know whether you are angry or pleased.” I said, “How do you know that, Allah’s Apostle?” He said, “When you are pleased, you say, “Yes, by the Lord of Muhammad,’ but when you are angry, you say, ‘No, by the Lord of Abraham!’ ” I said, “Yes, I do not leave, except your name.”

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 8, Book 73, Hadith 101)
SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 7, Book 62, Hadith 155)
SAHIH MUSLIM (Book 31, Hadith 5979)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

LEANING & SLEEPING IN THEIR LAPS. :-


Narrated `Aisha:

The Prophet used to lean on my lap and recite Qur’an while I was in menses.

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 1, Book 6, Hadith 296)
SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 9, Book 93, Hadith 639)

‘A’isha reported:

The Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) would recline in my lap when I was menstruating, and recite the Qur’an.

SAHIH MUSLIM (Book 3, Hadith 591)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

GIVING PRESENTS AND SHOWING AFFECTION TO THEIR FRIENDS. :-

Aishah narrated:

“I was not jealous of any wife of the Prophet as I was jealous of Khadijah, and it was not because I saw her. It was only because the Messenger of Allah mentioned her so much, and because whenever he would slaughter a sheep, he would look for Khadijah’s friends to gift them some of it.” (Sahih)

SUNAN TIRMIDHI (Vol. 4, Book 1, Hadith 2017)

Narrated `Aisha:

I did not feel jealous of any of the wives of the Prophet as much as I did of Khadija (although) she died before he married me, for I often heard him mentioning her, and Allah had told him to give her the good tidings that she would have a palace of Qasab (i.e. pipes of precious stones and pearls in Paradise), and whenever he slaughtered a sheep, he would send her women-friends a good share of it.

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 5, Book 58, Hadith 164)
SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 8, Book 73, Hadith 33)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

PLAYING WITH THEM. :-

Narrated `Aisha:

I used to play with the dolls in the presence of the Prophet, and my girl friends also used to play with me. When Allah’s Apostle used to enter (my dwelling place) they used to hide themselves, but the Prophet would call them to join and play with me.

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 8, Book 73, Hadith 151)

NOTE :-

The playing with the dolls and similar images is forbidden, but it was allowed for `Aisha at that time, as she was a little girl, not yet reached the age of puberty.

(FATH-UL-BAARI VOL 13 ,PAGE 143)

A’isha reported that she used to play with dolls in the presence of Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) and when her playmates came to her they left (the house) because they felt shy of Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him), whereas Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) sent them to her.

SAHIH MUSLIM (Book 31, Hadith 5981)

Narrated Aisha, Ummul Mu’minin:while she was on a journey along with the Messenger of Allah (p.b.u.h): I had a race with him (the Prophet) and I outstripped him on my feet. When I became fleshy, (again) I had a race with him (the Prophet) and he outstripped me. He said: This is for that outstripping.

ABU DAWOOD (Book 14, Hadith 2572)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

FEELING PLEASED WHEN THEY ARE GLAD. :-

Narrated Aisha, Ummul Mu’minin:

When the Messenger of Allah (p.b.u.h) arrived after the expedition to Tabuk or Khaybar (the narrator is doubtful), the draught raised an end of a curtain which was hung in front of her store-room, revealing some dolls which belonged to her. He asked: What is this? She replied: My dolls. Among them he saw a horse with wings made of rags, and asked: What is this I see among them? She replied: A horse. He asked: What is this that it has on it? She replied: Two wings. He asked: A horse with two wings? She replied: Have you not heard that Solomon had horses with wings? She said: Thereupon the Messenger of Allah (p.b.u.h) laughed so heartily that I could see his molar teeth.

ABU DAWOOD (Book 42, Hadith 4914)

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

TRYING BEST TO MAKE THEM HAPPY. :-

Narrated ‘Ursa:

Aisha said, “While the Ethiopians were playing with their small spears, Allah’s Apostle screened me behind him and I watched (that display) and kept on watching till I left on my own.” So you may estimate of what age a little girl may listen to amusement.

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 7, Book 62, Hadith 118)
SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 1, Book 8, Hadith 445)

Narrated `Aisha:

The Prophet was screening me with his Rida’ (garment covering the upper part of the body) while I was looking at the Ethiopians who were playing in the courtyard of the mosque. (I continued watching) till I was satisfied. So you may deduce from this event how a little girl (who has not reached the age of puberty) who is eager to enjoy amusement should be treated in this respect.

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 7, Book 62, Hadith 163)
SAHIH MUSLIM (Book 4, Hadith 1941)


Narrated `Aisha:

(the mother of the faithful believers) Allah’s Apostle (in his last days) used to pray sitting. He would recite while sitting, and when thirty or forty verses remained from the recitation he would get up and recite them while standing and then he would bow and prostrate. He used to do the same in the second rak`a. After finishing the Prayer he used to look at me and if I was awake he would talk to me and if I was asleep, he would lie down.

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 2, Book 20, Hadith 220)

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

TAKING CARE OF THEM WHEN THEY ARE ILL. :-

Narrated `Aisha:

The Prophet used to treat some of his wives by passing his right hand over the place of ailment and used to say, “O Allah, the Lord of the people! Remove the trouble and heal the patient, for You are the Healer. No healing is of any avail but Yours; healing that will leave behind no ailment.

SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 7, Book 71, Hadith 639)
SAHIH BUKHARI (Vol. 7, Book 71, Hadith 646)

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

SAVING THEM FROM ANY HARM. :-

Narrated by Nu’man ibn Basheer (r.a) : Abu bakr (r.a) came and sought permission to enter the Prophet’s house . He heard A’isha (his daughter) raising her voice over that of the Prophet’s. After being permitted, he entered and got hold of her and said :O Daughter of Umm Rooman, why are you raising your voice over that of the Messenger of Allah? The prophet (s.a.w) intervened and prevented him (Abu bakr) from hitting his daughter. When Abu bakr (r.a) left, the Prophet (s.a.w) consoled her and said : Did you see how i saved you from him?. After a while abu bakr (r.a) returned, sought permission to enter and this time he saw the Prophet (s.a.w) joking and laughing with A’isha (r.a). Abu bakr (r.a) said ” Oh Messenger of Allah (s.a.w) allow me to be part of your peace just as you have allowed me to be part of your conflict

MUSNAD AHMAD (HADITH 18020)

SOURCE OF MUSNAD AHMAD :-

http://www.islamweb.net/hadith/display_hbook.php?bk_no=121&hid=18020&pid=672945

Posted on November 1, 2012, in OTHERS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Subhanallah! I dont know why this article made me cry ., brought so much tears to me, I couldn’t believe so much love is possible between a man and his wife.Allah akbar ! may Allah grant us such wonderful love wit our spouse.ameen.

  1. Pingback: RIGHTS OF HUSBAND & WIFE. « Islah

Leave a Reply

